Paint.Net Post Again

Image representing WordPress.com as depicted i...

Image via CrunchBase

Recently I’ve been fiddling with the layout of RandomBrainwork.net. Again. This time I am working in WordPress.com, and I have to say that as far as customization options go, WordPress.com is way better than Blogger.com. I’ll tell you why.

For one, if you are technically inclined at all, you can figure out the more comprehensive option built into many of the themes that you get free with a WordPress account. Not to mention if you host your WordPress somewhere else, you have literally thousands of themes to choose from, plus tons of plugins that can make your site way different from anything else on the interwebz.

One of the options I’ve been playing with is a fairly foolproof one, meaning that I would have to be the retard all the retards make fun of to mess it up. This is where Paint.net comes in. In a lot of the WordPress.com themes you can add your own header image, and it even tells you what size to make it. Add Paint.net into the mix and you get a foolproof way to customize a WordPress theme.

As you can see, I rather amaturely created my own header image, and in an instant I’ve got a unique theme.

One other tool that I can’t do without is the Dropper application. What this does for you is tell you the colors in the page that you are trying to match a banner or header image to. It sits o

ver top of all your other open windows which is handy.

I should add that Paint.net is comparable to Photoshop because it’s totally free. There is some functionality that Paint.net doesn’t have, but it’s so comprehensive for open source software that you can’t get a better deal.

Enhanced by Zemanta

~ by Daniel Crowder on September 15, 2010.

One Response to “Paint.Net Post Again”

  1. There are also many free plugins available to extent Paint.Net. All you have to do is search google for “Free paint.net plugins”

    I would suggest giving it a look.

Leave a comment